Review

Book Review – The Afterlife of Holly Chase

Title: The Afterlife of Holly Chase
Author: Cynthia Hand
Rating: ★★★★★
Read: December 18-22, 2021
Book Read in 2021: 135
Format: Audiobook
Page Count: 389
Reread: 3rd time reading
Genre: YA Fantasy Retelling
Publisher:
Harper Audio

Synopsis: On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways.

She didn’t.

And then she died.

Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge–as the latest Ghost of Christmas Past.

Every year, they save another miserly grouch. Every year, Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable.

But this year, everything is about to change…

Review: I decided to do a reread of this via audio because Erin Spencer is my favourite audiobook narrator. It was absolutely perfect.

I haven’t stopped thinking about this book in the year since I read it. If anything, I love it even more now than I did when I read it. It’s like this tiny little seed was planted in my heart and it just keeps growing into the greatest joy.

If you like audiobooks, I definitely recommend this one.

Original review: A Christmas Carol has always been, and will always be, one my favourite stories. Not just one of my favourite Christmas stories, one of my favourite stories ever. When I found out this was a retelling of that classic tale, I knew I would need to read it. Am I ever glad I did!

Perfect. Completely and utterly perfect. One of the greatest retellings I’ve ever read.

I can’t even put into words how absolutely flawless this book was. It was everything I never knew I needed.

I don’t want to give too much away, but I can say that I don’t think I have ever seen such incredible character growth in a standalone. It usually takes an author a few books in a series to pull off the kind of growth Hand was able to craft. It blew me away.

Holly’s narrative throughout the book was the definite stand out. There was just the right amount of humour, grief, swooning and full on sobbing all blended together to make a story that was entirely beautiful.

I’ll likely never be able to explain how this book made me feel. It truly is indescribable.

Well done Cynthia Hand. You created a book that would make Dickens proud.

Please make sure you all pick up this wonderful story. It will stick with you and fill you up with hope and joy.

Leave a comment